I like color. I’m not joking when I say our current house has a room of every color. However, I am REALLY not good at picking out colors. It takes me a few tries and much worrying to pick out a color that looks good. Those little color chips are so darn deceptive! I usually end up choosing a color that looks great on a tiny chip but turns out way to bright on the wall.

Choosing interior colors was especially hard because we’d be stuck with our choice for a really long time. When I’m painting, I usually get up one wall before deciding it’s the wrong color and then go buy more paint. I don’t have the luxury for the new house. Luckily I have a friend who is a very talented interior designer for UVA. I knew the color that I wanted for each room and she helped direct me to the correct shade. I seriously owe her BIG TIME. Even Tommy commented on how nice the paint colors were.

One of the things I did when trying to decide on a color was google the color. So this is for all you Googlers out there … Hi!

Main Color: Duron Inviting Ivory

It is a beautiful warm buttery yet neutral yellow. The color warms up the room but isn’t overpowering. In fact with straight on sunlight it looks almost white.

Duron Inviting Ivory

Duron Inviting Ivory

Downstairs Bathroom:  Benjamin Moore Butte Rock

A very neutral warm brown. It makes the room feel very cozy and yet elegant.

Benjamin Moore Butte Rock

Benjamin Moore Butte Rock

Monkey Bathroom: Benjamin Moore Salisbury Green

This is a slightly yellowey sage green. It looks softer in the picture than in real life.

Benjamin Moore Salisbury Green

Benjamin Moore Salisbury Green

Fish Bathroom: Benjamin Moore Yarmouth Blue

This turned out to be a much lighter shade that I expected but I like it’s softness. Blue is hard because you don’t want to come off as too baby blue.

Benjamin Moore Yarmouth Blue

Benjamin Moore Yarmouth Blue

Master Bath: Benjamin Moore James River Blue

This blue looks stunning against the creamy tumbled marble. They complement each other well and it’s not too overwhelming.

Benjamin Moore James River Blue

Benjamin Moore James River Blue

So one funny thing. At then end of the paint process Tommy goes through and marks all the places that need touch ups. It looks like our paneling is sick with the measles. I’m glad Tommy is so detailed. 🙂

Don't worry, I don't think it's contagious.

Happy Painting!

